top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeesha

When's the Last Time you Treated Yourself?


Being a good mum to me means putting your child first and always ensuring they have everything they need but sometimes, as mums, we focus so much on our child/ren and what they need, we forget to look after ourselves.

Before I had my son I used to get my hair done regularly. My hair stylist used to call me a perfectionist because I used to come back for cuts before my hair even started to grow out. I was living in Oxford and I would travel down on the weekends just to get my hair done. It made me feel good so it was worth it. I used to get my hair and eyebrows (sometimes nails) done every so often.

What woman doesn't like being pampered?

That all stopped during my pregnancy due to sickness. Now that I've had my son, if I'm not busy scraping porridge out of the carpet, I'm preparing for the next day. Also, as a breastfeeding mum, it can be difficult at times because my son refuses bottles so that means he's always with me.

I mentioned my 'not-so-happy' news in my last blog and ever since then I've decided it's time to put myself first. As a mum we sometimes get so busy with our little ones we forget about treating ourselves. It's okay to set some time (and money) aside to get your nails or hair done.

So here I am, in the hairstylists chair waiting to get my hair cut. It's the first time I've been able to leave my son (he's with my mum) and I actually think I'm more excited and happy about having 'me time' than I am about my new hairstyle. My go-to hairdresser is Hype Coiffure (the Clapham Junction branch) and my stylist is called Natalie. It's always nice when you have a hair stylist who shares your vision but can also recommend styles that will suit you.I opted for a pixie cut with a fade in the back; I'm so happy with the results.

Ladies, whether it's a hot bath or a hair style change, don't forget to look after yourself. It makes a huge difference when you feel good.

Goodbye hair. And hello to the new Teesha!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page