top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeesha

The (not so) Big Chop


Hey guys,

I haven't written for so long but forgive me, I've been extremely busy being a new mum. Isn't it crazy how we just adapt to our new lives and manage to get everything done? We truly are divine!

Anyway, I wanted to talk about the C-word... circumcision. I've been contemplating whether or not I should write this but then again, it is a part of my experience into motherhood right?

Circumcision for many people is a no-go area and that's okay, I mean once upon a time I used to be so against it. My partner, however, said he wanted it done as soon as we found out we were having a boy due to his family's traditions but for me, it was a really hard decision. I thought about it throughout my pregnancy and a few people almost put me off by telling me horror stories so I decided to do my own research. The London Circumcision Clinic (http://www.circumcision-clinic.com) was recommended to us and I read every single review and straight away I knew this was 'the one' so I decided to call them and book an appointment.

On the day of our son's Circumcision, I was so anxious, I kept asking myself if I was doing the right thing. Of course with any operation, you have your risks and even though it would only be a 'minor procedure' as a mum I had my worries but partner kept me relaxed throughout. Once we arrived, we met the receptionist and she was so lovely and welcoming. I looked on the walls and was happy to see the Doctors' certificates (they had so many!) so by this point I was as comfortable as I was ever going to get, considering the circumstances. The Doctor explained the procedure to us step by step. They injected him with a needle to numb the area and demonstrated that my son couldn't feel any pain before he started the main procedure. My son didn't like it so he started to cry which made me get teary eyed but they assured us he was okay. I held on to my partner's arm as he held our son's hand. My son was more confused than anything but he was fine and it was over before we knew it. They talked us through the aftercare and gave us a laminated sheet with more information which I thought was really helpful. I fed my son in the reception and he fell asleep as soon as we put him in his car seat.

My son showed absolutely no signs of pain over the next two weeks of healing. We bathed him twice a day in sea salt and applied Vaseline to his nappy to avoid any friction. Any questions we had The London Circumcision Clinic were more than happy to answer. I'm so pleased we made the right choice, I would definitely recommend them to friends and family.

Thanks again Dr.Ali

http://circumcisioninlondon.co.uk/index.html

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I've Become One of 'Those' Parents

Heys guys, Let me just jump right into it... Before I had a child I would see parents with their 'poor little child' on what I called a "dog lead" and in all honestly, I used to silently judge them. W

bottom of page