top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeesha

Mekhi's Favourite Books


I'm always on the look out for books. I buy my books online, in-store and sometimes I find books that libraries are selling for cheaper prices.Thanks for reading and I hope your little ones enjoy the books as much as we did.One thing I've always done is read to my son. I heard that reading to them whilst in the womb can be comforting and it also creates a great bond between mother and baby, and I haven't stopped.My son has a variety of books and each day he has a new 'favourite' but I guess that keeps things interesting for him.

Books are important but so is representation and so I ensure my son has books with characters that he can relate to and ones that represent him.Here are a few of the books that he just loves to read:

Full, Full Full of Love

Written by by Trish Cooke

Illustrated by Paul Howard

About the book: Jay Jay and all of his family get together and go to Granny's house every Sunday. There's plenty of food and plenty of love to go around!

Joy!

Written by Joyce Carol Thomas

Illustrated by Pamela Johnson

About the book: A grandmother celebrates the love she has for her grandson throughout all the seasons with poetry.

Please, Baby Please

Written by Spike Lee and Tonya Lewis Lee

Illustrated by Kadir Nelson

About the book: Follow the journey of baby and all her mischief.

Bright Eyes Brown Skin

Written by Cheryl W.Hudson &Bernette G.Ford

Illustrated by George Ford

About the book: Follow four very cheerful and confident children on a day at school and join them on as they learn to feel good and accept themselves for who they are.

So Much

Written by Trishe Cooke

Illustrated by Helen Oxenbury

About the book: Everyone in the family shows baby how much they love him in their own special way.

Marvellous Me: Inside Out

Written by Lisa Bullard

Illustrated by Brandon Reineling

About the book: A book on self-esteem. Meet Marvelous Alex he loves grizzly hugs and strawberry ice cream. The book also includes activities that can be used inside the home and in school.

I'm always on the look out for books. I buy my books online, in-store and sometimes I find books that libraries are selling for cheaper prices.

Thanks for reading and I hope your little ones enjoy the books as much as we did.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SAVE Our Local Children's Centres

The government are making cuts this means they're closing down Children's Centres. They're making a huge mistake as so many parents visit theirs for early years support. I have written a letter to my

I've Become One of 'Those' Parents

Heys guys, Let me just jump right into it... Before I had a child I would see parents with their 'poor little child' on what I called a "dog lead" and in all honestly, I used to silently judge them. W

bottom of page