top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeesha

Happy Father's Day to My First Love


They say a Father is a daughter's first love and I have to agree with that. I mean, growing up I was such a daddy's girl; anywhere you'd see my dad, you'd see me. I would follow that man from pillar to post, honestly. My dad was my hero.

My dad past away when I was 12 years old; it was very sudden. I don't really talk about my dad much because every time I think about losing him it reduces me to tears but today I want to celebrate him. My dad truly was the best dad in the world, he always put us first no matter what! I can remember when I was younger and I wanted a pair of white and sparkling Reebok classics, my dad searched far and wide until he found them for me. They say you never truly appreciate someone until their gone but in my case that's a false statement. I knew my dad was one of a kind and everyone around me knew I thought so highly of him.

Today, its Father's Day and I want to say Happy Father's Day to my first love; My dad.

Sometimes I wonder what my dad would think of the woman I've become. Would he be proud of me? I think of all the things I've missed out on, the fact that he'll never get to question my boyfriend and give him 'the talk' or even walk me down the aisle. One of the hardest things was realising my son will never get to meet him; my dad would have been such a positive role model in my son's life. The moment I looked at my son, I saw my dad in him and I can't tell you how warm my heart felt.

Today is a day to celebrate all father's, uncles, grandads and any positive male role models we have in our lives.

Don't forget to let them know how much you love them.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SAVE Our Local Children's Centres

The government are making cuts this means they're closing down Children's Centres. They're making a huge mistake as so many parents visit theirs for early years support. I have written a letter to my

bottom of page