top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeesha

My Baby has an Email Address


I know what you're thinking!

It sounds crazy right? I can almost hear the 70's baby's complaining about how much this 'new generation' has allowed technology to take over our lives. Well yes, technology is a huge part of my life (and yours too if you're reading this) but I promise it's for a good cause.

When I was pregnant I started writing a blog and one day my laptop suddenly broke so it sadly got deleted (all 10,000 words) and I was so upset. So I decided to start emailing my diary entries to myself. My diary entries were summaries of each day during my pregnancy and I would write about how I felt and what I got up to. Simple really. I thought one day my unborn child might want to read about my life before them and also my pregnancy so I used to direct it to them. It also gave me a chance to bond with my baby, I found out I was pregnant when I was about five weeks so talking to my baby made everything real for me.

I remember watching an advert, when I was younger, about parents making their child an email, documenting their life and then giving the password as a gift for their 18th birthday. Even though I was young I told myself I would do the same for my child. It's just such a brilliant idea.

Anyway, I decided to make my son an email address. Now I can write to him with no fear of it being deleted, I can send him pictures of Birthdays, Christmas and other special events so one daywhen he's old enough I can give him the password and he can see it all. I'm treating this email address like a savings account, but instead of putting money I'm putting in memories that will hopefully last forever.

If you have a child why not make them an email address? It's never too late. The way 'this generation' are you'll probably be able to give it to them well before they're 11 (that's when I got my first email).

When I look back on my childhood I remember being such a happy child and I'm quite lucky that I have many pictures, over the years, to look back on. I can only hope that when my son grows up he appreciates all the memories we have made and the fact that he will always have pictures and diaries to look back on.

Teesha

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SAVE Our Local Children's Centres

The government are making cuts this means they're closing down Children's Centres. They're making a huge mistake as so many parents visit theirs for early years support. I have written a letter to my

bottom of page