top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeesha

My Labour/ Delivery Story


On the 29th of July at around 6:30 am I woke up feeling really strong pains in my lower abdomen and across my back. I had a feeling it could be labour but I didn't want to get my hopes up, so I went back to sleep. The pain woke me up half an hour later so I decided to record them. After a few hours, I woke my partner up and told him about the pains and straight away he told me "you're in labour!" I didn't believe I was in labour even though my due date was only 5 days away. Anyway, I had a warm bath and called my mum. My mum panicked and told me she would make her way to my house.

12:00 pm: These sharp pains were coming every 10 minutes and lasting for 1 minute so I decided to call my midwife. Long story short she said she'd call me back later because she was driving. Imagine! The cheek! I was previously told before that I shouldn't go to the hospital unless either my contractions were 5 minutes apart or my waters were broken so I kept my arse at home! Anyway, I still didn't think I was in labour!

2:00 pm: The pains were getting stronger. They were coming every 7 minutes and lasting 30 seconds. My mum arrived, and her and my partner were adamant I was in labour but I still didn't want to believe it, I thought I was experiencing Braxton Hicks! Little 'Ol me in labour? Nope. I decided to straighten my hair and each time I felt any pain I would stand up, hold onto my bed and breath through it. Once it was over I continued with my hair. 

3:00 pm: I still didn't believe I was in labour even though the pain was becoming unbearable. I didn't want to get turned away from the hospital so, even though my mum and partner were telling me to get ready to go, I refused. During my pregnancy I read so many stories about women going into hospital, only to be turned away and I made a promise to myself that I would stay at home for as long as possible. The pain started getting worse and I was so tired. I remember getting frustrated at one point and even kicking my mum and my other half out of my room for annoying me ( it only lasted 5 minutes and I apologised after). My mum was in a panic and started to pack a few things for me to take to the hospital and my partner went to the shop to buy me snacks. Sigh. When he got back I finally agreed to go to the hospital and just as I put my leggings on, my waters broke and I was sick. "Okay. Shit! Now I'm in labour!" I remember shouting out. 

I called an Uber. Yes. I called an Uber. My cab was downstairs and at this point, I felt so much pressure, I was struggling to walk. Throughout my pregnancy, I was able to wear heels and I never waddled (I was lucky I guess) but I had no choice but to waddle. I actually remember falling just before I left out because the pain was unbearable and my partner caught me before I hit the ground. Women told me stories about how painful it would be and what to expect, almost like they were trying to scare me out of it but for some reason, labour/delivery never scared me. Not one bit. I spent hours watching every show on earth and although it couldn't prepare me physically it definitely prepared me mentally.

Anyway, back to my Uber. We were in the car and I thanked my driver for being so patient with me; He said he couldn't believe I was so calm. We arrived at the hospital  (10 minutes later) and oh. My. Dear. Lord. The pain was back and it was stronger. I couldn't walk. This really nice porter helped us out, he put me in a wheelchair and took me all the way up the ward. The midwives checked my cervix and I was only 3 centimetres dilated. Now, for anyone who doesn't know, you need to be a total of 10 centimetres before you can even push so I was nowhere near ready. They told me my son had loads of hair and I cried tears of joy. My midwife brought me to my room and set a lavender bath for me. I kept getting urges to push and my midwife didn't want me to so after a short while I had to get out. I can't even explain the pain that met me on that day but it was very real! Anyway, I was told the midwives only do cervix checks every 4 hours to avoid infection so there wasn't much they could do at this point. Everyone kept telling me I was doing well and I just wanted the ground to eat me up. I wanted to run away from the pain but I kept breathing through it. Gosh, I have to say, my mum and partner were the best; so supportive!

5:30pm: I was finally given Entonox (gas and air) after 11 hours of labour without it, boy did it feel good; I was on cloud 9! Honestly, I felt as though I was floating in the clouds. The nurses were telling me to breathe it in slowly but the pain forced me to speed up... I blacked out. I actually blacked out. My mum said my eyes rolled back and I remember hearing her at the time shouting "She's blacked out! She's Blacked out! Help!" I was in another world completely. It was an out of body experience but then I heard my partner's deep voice calling me and I opened my eyes. The midwives told me to go easy with the Entonox, one even tried to take it away from me and I grabbed it back like it was my baby. The unbearable pain continued for what felt like a lifetime. 

Contractions are weird because one minute you feel like you're dying and the next, you're fine, cracking jokes and talking about what you want to eat for dinner. They are no joke, though. There were a few points when I thought 'Lord take me.'

A few hours later the midwives came in to check on me and to my surprise, I was fully dilated. Felt as though I went from 0 to 100 real quick but this all happened within 3/4 hours and they told me I was ready to push. "Excuse me?" Nope. Not me. Not yet. Not here! I wanted to deliver my son in a birthing pool and I know they tell you that things may not go according to plan but I was determined to follow my birthing plan. 

My midwives were absolutely amazing. I asked them to set the pool and 20 minutes later I was walking. Yes, I said walking to the delivery pool (down the corridor). I managed not to push during that time and just as I stood up I could feel even more pressure. They asked me if I needed support on my way to the room and I refused. I just remember marching down that corridor, high off of Entonox ready to have my baby.

Right, let me set the scene. My birthing pool (looked like a jacuzzi) was in the middle of the room filled with warm water. I had my partner, my mum and my two midwives with me. Sh*t was definitely getting real now! My midwives guided me and told me exactly what they needed me to do and before I knew it, it was time to push. I didn't need to push too many times before I started to crown but I remember feeling my son's hair and crying out; I knew I was so close to the finish line! With words of encouragement from my other half and mum I was relaxing into it and ready to meet my boy. "Teesha, breathe," they told me, and that's exactly what I did. After a few heavy breaths, they told me to look into the water to see my son and as he floated out, I reached for him, took him out of the water and put him on my chest. "My baby! My baby!" That's all I remember screaming. My son was finally here and I assisted him with his first breath. Could this moment get any more perfect? My mum and I cried as I held my son close to my chest and my partner

supported me from behind. Our son was finally here and he was absolutely perfect.

Mekhi made an appearance at 8:54 pm and weighed 7lbs 8oz. My dear mother was able to film most of it so we can relive that special moment again and again. I'm so grateful to be able to say that my labour went according to plan, I know many women aren't as lucky as I was and I can only thank the Most High. No amount of words can explain how I feel about my son but I can honestly say, I feel complete.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SAVE Our Local Children's Centres

The government are making cuts this means they're closing down Children's Centres. They're making a huge mistake as so many parents visit theirs for early years support. I have written a letter to my

bottom of page